top of page

Kat McDonald

Allied Health Assistant

Hi, I'm Kat, and I am an Allied Health Assistant. What that means is that you might see me helping the therapists with reports and resources, as well as maybe even having some sessions. I also run our neurodivergent social groups! I am currently completing my Master of Occupational Therapy at Charles Darwin University, which has a strong focus on Indigenous and Rural Remote Health. I love working with young people and those who live in rural areas. I have over 15 years of experience in Disability and Allied Health and have been working in the NDIS space for 4 years. 
I am always up for a chat, my special skill is helping people with bringing what is stuck in their heads out and creating something amazing.


Some of the things that make me 'me'

Other people may describe me as

What does an Allied Health Assistant do?

  • Preparing clients for treatment

  • Assisting in client treatments, therapeutic activities, and retraining programs as prescribed by an Allied Health Practitioner

  • Assisting with routine evaluations, collecting data and reporting changes to Allied Health Practitioner

  • Supervising activities and client exercises under the direction of an Allied Health Practitioner.

  • Assisting in assessment and provide administrative support in report writing.

  • Provide a range of screening assessments as directed by supervising Allied Health Practitioners.

  • Development of resources and tools for clients as prescribed by an Allied Health Practitioner.

  • Assist clients with completion of paperwork, access of organisational services and emergency assistance under the supervision of an Allied Health Practitioner.

More about Kat

Home state: Rural NSW

My eye sparkles and SpIns (special interests) include:

  • I live in regional NSW with my husband, 2 young boys, dog, horses , chickens and bunny. 

  • I am currently studying my Bachelor Health Science / Masters of Occupational Therapy and am nearly there!

  • In my spare time, I am a chronic volunteer. I help out at the local teenage art program and pony club. 

  • My happy place is either sitting in the paddock with the horses, or being creative. I love to crochet, draw and play lego among other creative "stuff". 

Here are 3 things I believe:

  1. Speaking up to help others in need is never wrong.

  2. People don't always remember what you do, but remember how you made them feel.

  3. Animals are the best therapy.

bottom of page